Coming up – Mutiny

Posted: June 11, 2013 in release, writing
Tags: , ,

I’ve had a story accepted today for this year’s pirate themed Locothology anthology. The story’s a flash fiction piece about trouble with a talking figurehead, and doing the admin around it made me realise something – I’ve started writing longer.

When I first wrote fiction for publication, I wrote a lot of flash fiction pieces, stories under a thousand words. They were quick and satisfying to complete, and I managed to get quite a few of them published.

As time’s gone on, what I find satisfying to write has changed. I’ve learned more about characterisation and building plots and found that I need space in a story to apply that learning. It’s not that you can’t develop good plots and characters in a thousand words, but that what I currently find rewarding takes longer.

So now I’ve got to the point, for the first time, where none of the stories I have on the go – whether being written, or planned, or edited, or sent out to editors – none of them are flash fiction. It’s not that I won’t write flash – maybe this will be the reminder that restores my love for it – but that I’m interested in other forms right now.

I’ll post more details about the anthology when I have a release date. It’s all pirates, so what’s not to love?

Leave a Reply

