One blog at a time

Posted: June 14, 2013 in writing life
Tags: ,

A friend and I were discussing my blog last night, and he suggested it was good for me to have somewhere I could easily do a little writing to keep me going. He’s right, but the funny thing is I’d never thought of it that way.

I started this blog as my web presence, for people who’d enjoyed my stories and wanted to know more. I knew it was something a writer ought to have, and though I didn’t plan on pushing it I started writing posting.

After a while, it became somewhere I could put down interesting thoughts that crossed my mind. It stopped just being me saying ‘hey, I wrote a story’, and became more me writing about books.

And this year, even before writing properly took over my time, it became something more. I started posting regularly. The blog became a goal in itself, something I enjoyed doing in its own right and wanted to develop.

Now it is exactly what my friend said – a good way to keep my writing going. On days when I’m struggling to get started, when opening a story document or starting a search for work is just too much, I’ll blog first. I enjoy it and it gives me a sense of satisfaction, of a task well done. It gets my writing muscles going, puts me into the flow. It means I’m writing.

Comments

Leave a Reply

