Out now – The Promise and the Reckoning

Posted: August 30, 2013 in release
Tags: , , ,

I really should pay more attention to what’s going on around me. It turns out that an anthology I have a story in has been out for a couple of months and I’d not even realised. Well done Andrew!

Gears and Levers 3

Gears and Levers 3, an anthology of steampunk stories, is out now via Amazon and Smashwords. It contains my story ‘The Promise and the Reckoning’. It’s a tale of science and high adventure set in an alternative Europe torn about by massive volcanoes. Professor Ondieki is determined to discover what has caused this disaster, but knowledge comes at a price, and to find the truth Ondieki risks bringing about further destruction. Can he and his assistant Jim gather the samples they need, or will science be thwarted by the fears of others?

This story was inspired by the Icelandic volcano that disrupted air travel a few years back. At the time, someone told me that airships, unlike most planes, could still fly in an atmosphere choked with volcanic dust. How could I not turn that into a story?

This is also an attempt on my part to show more diverse characters, with an African rather a European as the lead. I’m not sure how well I did in portraying someone from a different culture, but I like Ondieki, and I expect you will too.

So please, go read, and let me know what you think.

Comments

Leave a Reply

