What a difference a week makes

Posted: September 23, 2013 in writing life
Tags: , ,

I’ve just spent a week on holiday with friends, leaving my computer behind for the first time in years. It was a wonderfully relaxing experience, even if the drive home to Stockport wasn’t. So now I’m back, refreshed and trying to get my brain back into a working gear.

My first task, clearing my inbox, has acted as a reminder that I’m achieving some momentum on writing work. In the time I’ve been away I’ve had five stories rejected – not the ideal outcome, but at least it’s a reflection of how many stories I’m sending out. I’ve received notification that an anthology I’m in should be coming out this week – more details as soon as it’s available. And I’ve finally won the bidding for a few days of freelance work, something I’ve been striving towards for months now.

Getting started writing for a living is hard. I’m not as far along as I’d like to be, and sometimes I have to force myself to see the good in things – five rejections in a week hurts! But it’s good to be able to see a week as a whole like this, to see that I’m starting to get some responses from the world, and that they’re not all bad.

To the writing cave – there is work to be done!

Comments
  1. Lady Elexia says:

    Reblogged this on The Freelance Files and commented:
    To much work and no play can lead to burnouts, I am glad you got a break!

Leave a Reply

