All the books!

Posted: December 30, 2013 in reading, writing life
Tags: , , , , ,

Of course I got books for Christmas. I’ve been getting books for Christmas since I first learned to chew on a page, and I have many relatives who share my love of reading. This year’s haul includes a book of Star Wars origami patterns (thanks N, L and S) and a whole bag of Guy Gavriel Kay from Mrs K’s aunt (thanks Sheila!).

All your GGK are belong to us

All your GGK are belong to us

I’m already back at the computer, as I found that my brain started itching for routine after only a week of rest and over indulgence. So I guess that one of my aims for this year will be to make the most of that impulse, rather than giving in to the part of me that’s prone to slacking off. Though obviously R&R will be allowed.

So what books did you lot get for Christmas? What are you looking forward to reading this year? And what good intentions do you have for the year ahead?

Comments
  1. I would like to get the pile of books beside my bed down to a sensible level during the year. I am currently reading and loving a book I was given about a year ago – Philip Pullman’s versions of Grimm’s Fairytales. Just below that is the book you kindly sent me for Christmas (thank you both!). Further down is a fascinating book about the paints used by medieval artists, which I have got about half way through and can only take in small doses. Way down the bottom are three Ars Magica supplements that I really ought to read. Being realistic, once I have finished the top two on the pile, the rest may still be there this time next year. I have a lot of Neil Gaiman recently taken as Kindle downloads which I hope to read when away from home, and I want to re-read The Ocean at the End of the Lane.

  2. That sounds like a fascinating selection – the Pullman’s on my very long and very theoretical ‘to read’ list. Like you, I should be trying to get my reading pile down, but somehow it never seems to happen…

Leave a Reply

