Guardians of the Galaxy

Posted: August 4, 2014 in Uncategorized

I’m going to keep this short, because it’s not going to be very balanced or intelligent. I loved the Guardians of the Galaxy movie. Prime reasons include:

  • the characters – all five leads were interesting in different ways
  • the humour – including the fact that Starlord knows he’s making jokes at inappropriate moments, and that’s the only way this ridiculous man-child can get through life
  • the emotional beats – yes they were a bit cheesy, but they worked
  • the visuals – they took the absurd mishmash of Marvel’s cosmic continuity and ran with it – giant head-mine floating in space anyone?

This is the opposite end of the Marvel film spectrum from Captain America. It’s knowingly silly. It takes characters so obscure I’ve barely heard of them and makes you love them. It uses special effects not to create something believable but to show something so inconceivable that you just roll with the technicolour glory of it all.

I had high hopes for this film. It lived up to them. I am very pleased.

A raccoon with a gun - the film summed up in one absurd image

A raccoon with a gun – the film summed up in one absurd image

Comments
  1. Jon Taylor says:

    Agreed. We have been adding 70s soul music to quite a few mundane tasks in the Taylor household since Friday.

  2. Victoria says:

    Raccoons are like that. Give ’em a gun and watch out.

  3. jhmae says:

    i so want to see this movie, simply because it looks so weird. I love that a raccoon is a superhero. A very underappreciated animal, if I may say so…

  4. Michelle Mueller says:

    I’ve been debating whether or not I should go see this movie. I think I’ve been sold on it.

  5. Sue Archer says:

    Hi Andrew, I just saw this one today and thoroughly enjoyed it. Before I saw it, I remember thinking, “if Marvel can pull off a talking, gun-toting raccoon, they can do anything.” Well, it turns out that Rocket was the best character in the entire movie. I felt like he was the lead. So Marvel, you have triumphed!

    • Totally! I feel like the one thing that they’re lacking is some female-led films, but now they’ve done this there’s really no excuse for cowardice or pandering to old-fashioned views of what audiences will watch. Bring on the Black Widow movie!

      • Sue Archer says:

        I would love to see a Black Widow movie. There’s been a lot of talk about Captain Marvel as well. Time to put that talk into action!

        • We’re definitely getting the Agent Carter series soon, apparently in a season break in Agents of SHIELD, so that’s a start at least. And I’m looking forward to the retro elements of that as well.

  6. […] Marvel also brought out the biggest, funnest thing I watched in the cinema this year – Guardians of the Galaxy. A bunch of bickering misfits, forced to work together to save themselves and the universe? A […]

  7. […] not a problem when you’re entertaining a drooling fan like me with big spectacle like Guardians of the Galaxy. But when you’re aiming to create something low key, or to draw in a bigger audience, […]

Leave a Reply

