Even more from the blog tour

Posted: August 8, 2014 in writing
Tags: , , , , ,

When I did the IC Publishing blog tour a couple of weeks back one of the people I tagged in was fellow fantasy writer and resident of the Greater Manchester sprawl R. A. Smith. He’s a busy man, and didn’t have time to write his post then, but he’s done it now and it’s worth a read.

R. A. Smith prepares to board the Writing-Plane on a mission of adventure

R. A. Smith prepares to board the Writing-Plane on a mission of adventure

One of the most useful points he makes is the importance of networking. As writers it’s never just enough to put your words down on the page or screen. You have to get out there and let people know about them, or else how will you have readers?

Plus R., like me, enjoys the London Underground. I know lots of people, my wife Laura included, hate that place, but I find it endlessly fascinating.

This blog tour has been pretty fascinating for me – learning about other writers’ processes and how easily we can make connections with just a little extra effort. It’s a nice reminder of the benefits of our beautifully interconnected world.

Comments
  1. Thank you for taking the time on this one for me! I’ve now been frantically gearing up for LonCon, by which I mostly mean deciding what I want to go to when I’m not on panels, and panicking about a couple of said panels! But I’m excited too…

    • Hope LonCon goes well. I can’t make it, but I’m sure you’ll rule the world of panels and general geeking.

      • I keep forgetting there’s this handy panel on the top right for notifications, so bear with me as I catch up with my slow self 🙂

        • Hahaha! Notifications are a bit of a daily task for me, but I know the feeling – I’m still getting the hang of managing them on Twitter.

          • Ah,, Twitter. There’s another thing. Reminds me, will have to get a widget like the one you have there. I’d check more often, but patches of spare time when I get in are limited at the mo. Making a bit more time in the last week or two, though.

            • Twitter’s one of the widgets that WordPress have in their selection, so it’s really easy to include. I’ve also got WordPress set to automatically tweet for me when a new post goes up – it means the tweet’s less personalised, but means I never forget to tweet a new post.

            • Yeah, it’s been doing the auto-Tweets when I’ve stuck up a post, which was nice, but I usually stick something more personal up later anyway. However, I will get poking widgets soon (heh!).

Leave a Reply

