Diversity in science fiction

Posted: September 27, 2014 in writing
Tags: , , , ,

As well as hosting a guest post from Austin Dragon earlier this week, I also wrote a post for his blog on the same theme – diversity in science fiction. Here’s how it starts…

Diversity in science fiction

Diversity is a hot topic in science fiction. There’s increasing acknowledgement that the genre has long been dominated by straight white men, and that it would be good to diversify both the creators and the characters.

This is a trend that, as a straight white man, I’m in favour of. So why is diversity important to me?

Aesthetic variety

I’m a fan and writer of science fiction and fantasy. A large part of their appeal for me is the range and variety of things they contain. The potential to read about something new, whether it’s a new place, a new culture, a new technology, a new point of view…

 

You can read the full article over on Austin’s site.

Comments
  1. I like how you pointed out the family angle. I have a fairly diverse extended family (culturally, religiously, orientationally), so I want them all to feel at home in my world.

    • Thanks H. This weekend I met a Kosovon-Albanian element of my extended family for the first time, and it was a timely reminder of how much more diverse even my own small world is compared with what I sometimes think to include in my fiction. Family can be a great way of grounding things that are important in principle.

Leave a Reply

