Highlights of 2014

Posted: December 17, 2014 in writing
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Today, Laura and I went out for our first works Christmas lunch. As we’re both now self-employed and working at home, neither of us had other colleagues to do this with, so a festive lunch together seemed like a nice tradition to start.

While we were eating mounds of tapas  in one of our favourite cafés, we talked about highlights of the past year. It’s been tough in places, but with a definite upward trajectory, and a lot of my highs have been related to my writing. So, in no particular order, here are some of my writing highlights from this year:

  • Having my short story ‘Surprise Me’ published in Daily Science Fiction.
  • Deciding to take my destiny into my own hands by self-publishing.
  • Releasing my first self-published books, learning a lot and getting some great reviews.
  • Getting enough freelance writing work in areas I love, mostly history and science fiction, so that I could stop bidding on less interesting projects.
  • Writing three whole novels in the space of a few months, and working with an editor on two of them. Because they’re ghost writing I can’t say more about them, but it’s been great fun.
  • Joining the writing team I’m now part of for the ghost writing gig – they’re a great bunch.
  • Getting to know fellow readers and writers through the internet, especially those of you who regularly frequent this blog. I didn’t make great use of social media before the last year or so, and it’s been fun getting to know interesting people I didn’t before, as well as chatting with a few who I did.
  • Getting my gorilla onesie. It’s only a writing thing because I sometimes wear it to keep warm while I work, but damn I’m grateful for it now that winter’s closing in.
That's right, I am exactly as cool as a three-year-old playing dress up.

That’s right, I am exactly as cool as a three-year-old playing dress up.

Next year I’m hoping to build on all of this. I have plans to finally publish a series of steampunk novellas in the spring, and then get back to my more heavy duty fantasy Rome novels. The sci-fi ghost writing looks set to continue. And I will of course keeping filling this space with words.

How about the rest of you – what have your highlights of this year been, whether related to reading and writing, science fiction and fantasy, or any other thing? Share some of them below, and lets celebrate together.

Comments
  1. A few of my highlights, in no particular order:

    Steve Anderson published two new books. It felt like I’d been waiting ages for them, but they were worth the wait.

    I went to see Joanna Penn give a talk in London, and as a direct result, I started my first novel.

    It’s been good to see you self-publishing, and to be able to offer some help.

    XinXii chose A Damn Close-Run Thing as their cover of the week, and included A Fleet in Being in this infographic.

    I started branching out into audio books and translations in 2014, which was very cool.

    My birthday cake was a model of a WWI Austro-Hungarian Tegetthoff class dreadnought.

  2. glenatron says:

    It has been a year of massive underachievement on my part, although I have got a certain amount of progress on my game writing stuff, which has been an education. In fact I’ve learned a lot in general, maybe next year will be the time I get to apply that.

    As a reader I’ve really enjoyed my year of only buying female authors. It’s certainly widened my reading in some good directions, which I will probably post about later.

    • It’s been really interesting to see what’s come out of your focus on female authors, and it’s made me more aware of the gender balance in who I read. Do you think it’s led to reading different types of books, or the same style just by people with different bodies?

      And how’s the game writing going? I’m curious to see what comes from it.

  3. Sara Norja says:

    My highlights writing-wise have included:
    – continuing to get poetry published
    – getting not only one, but four short stories either published or forthcoming
    – compiling a poetry collection that (I think) has potential

    And on top of that, I got in to the PhD position I’d wanted. All in all it’s been a very good year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

