Two Very Different Game of Thrones Parodies

Posted: April 11, 2015 in enthusing!
Tags: , , , , , ,

Some people – both fans and critics – still seem to want to stick fantasy in a special cultural corner. But lets face it, when one of the most popular works in the genre is getting regicide jokes onto Sesame Street, that genre isn’t the wimpy kid in the corner any more.

And as if to prove that Game of Thrones can be combined with just about anything, here are two very different parodies I stumbled across within minutes of each other. Enjoy!

Comments
  1. Hmm. I suppose they’d make more sense to me (and be funnier) if I ever watched Game of Thrones.

    You’re right, though — these parodies prove that the original is in the public awareness, not “the wimpy kid in the corner” that only fantasy geeks have heard about. Sort of like how you really knew a movie was popular when Mel Brooks felt it was a “big enough target” to make a parody of.

    • You’re right, like any parody they’re probably meaningless if you don’t know the original! The Sesame Street one is alluding to some really dark stuff, but does it so innocently you’d never know without the context.

  2. Liza Barrett says:

    These are awesome! “And bring me a sweater; I think winter is coming!”

    “Decapitation is a must … Kidding, I get off on killing everyone you love.”

    Just … Wow.

    It is really neat to see fantasy being more of the center of attention, although it’s been interesting to see how a lot of these folks who never would have cared integrate into the fantasy genre, both from the perspective of books and TV.

    • The details are great, aren’t they? I love the way the Sesame Street one alludes to innocently to plotlines about murder and incest. That contrast made me laugh all the harder.

  3. I read the books and not watched the shows, and found this hilarious!

    • Awesome. The TV show may be getting the attention, but it’s great that it can also entertain the fans of the original books. And they are such great books.

      • I am one of the few people I know who really can enjoy both the book and the movie/television show. Both versions of ‘Howl’s Moving Castle’ for example. I know that changes have to be made to fit the different genre expectations of different media.

        • I’m with you on accepting such changes as good and necessary for different media. Watchmen was, in my opinion, an example of doing this wrong – it was too busy being the comic on screen and not enough about being a film, though the one big change was an improvement.

          • I agree. The Watchmen also left out much of the subplots, because of the restriction on time for the storytelling. I believe The Watchmen would be better served if made into a television series, because it would more closely mimic the issue/chapter pattern of the original comic. It also had a lot to say about the actual comic genre … which wouldn’t have translated well to the screen.

            • I suspect it would be a problem with adapting almost any Alan Moore work – though he often writes cracking plots, he almost always uses them to discuss, explore and expand his medium. They’re great because they’re innovative, which almost by definition isn’t the point of an adaptation.

            • Movie adaptions are innovative when it comes to classics, because everyone knows them so well the adaptation can get playful: ‘Alice in Wonderland’, Dracula’, Frankenstein’ (All Victorian era novels). I nominate ‘Howl’s Moving Castle’ as the true exception, but then Hayao Miyazaki is a genius, like Moore.

            • That’s a really good point. I know it’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but I love Baz Lurman’s Romeo and Juliet because of that playfulness.

            • Same here. Even knowing how it ends, I still cry every time, because it is so well done.

  4. […] Two Very Different Game of Thrones Parodies at Andrew Knighton Writes […]

Leave a Reply

