A Change of Location

Posted: July 14, 2015 in Uncategorized

ghostwriterIf you’ve been looking at this blog lately and thinking that it seems like a bit of a ghost town, there is a reason. I’ve recently moved to a different hosting service, where I can do different things with the webpage. That blog still has the URL this one did by the end – andrewknighton.com – and still runs on WordPress, but being a bit of a tech dunce I didn’t realise that wouldn’t necessarily pull over all the subscribers this blog had. So, if you like what I write here, then please hop on over to andrewknighton.com and subscribe to the same old insightful content, soon to have lovely new design.

Comments
  1. Ellen Hawley says:

    I tried that as well, and within a couple of days scuttled back to WP for exactly that reason.

    • In my case, I’ve just accepted the short term loss of readers due to the advantages. There are certain things I really want to use – the Mailchimp plugin being first on the list – that are designed for WordPress software but perversely don’t work with WordPress hosting.

  2. Alex Hurst says:

    Andrew, don’t forget to update your Gravatar to link to your new site, and also add a Follow plugin via Jetpack, so people can subscribe easily. I couldn’t find a way to do so easily on my mobile, and had to take extra steps via Bloglovin’ to finally follow you.

    Happy to meet you!

    • Thanks very much Alex. As you can probably tell, this changeover has been a little half-arsed, and there are clearly many things I missed. I hadn’t even thought about my Gravatar, but I’ve updated that and added a subscription box to the blog to see me through until I get to properly rebuilding the site.

      • Alex Hurst says:

        No worries. I just thought to mention it since I wanted to subscribe, but couldn’t. I also added your blog to Bloglovin’ (RSS feeder) so people can add you that way on the fly. If you want to claim the blog (and make your own profile there, though not necessary) you can. 🙂

        • Alex Hurst says:

          Also, one more thing you have to do – your Gravatar is still linking here…. Go to Users on your Dashboard, and then “Personal Settings”…. change the link of your primary blog to the new one. 🙂 That should cover all of your bases!

Leave a Reply

